Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

Jury Duty

Jury Services

The right to a trial by jury is the privilege of every person in the United States, whether or not that person is a citizen.  This cherished right is guaranteed by both the U.S. and California Constitutions.  Jury trials cannot be held unless citizens of the state in which the trial is held are willing to perform their civic duty. Jurors are essential to the administration of justice.

Scam Alert

The Jury Services unit of the Superior Court of Alameda County does not call citizens to request payment for failing to appear for jury service. California law does not permit citizens to pay a fine in lieu of jury service; a fine may be assessed, but the citizen would still be required to reschedule jury service for a later date. Please be advised that any requests for such information may be a scam. This notice provides guidance as to how to proceed if you think you are being targeted by this scam.

Important Information

Superior Court of Alameda County will implement AB1981 which changes juror travel reimbursements effective January 1, 2023. The new bill requires that mileage reimbursement for jurors using their own personal mode of transportation will now apply to travel both going and leaving the court, whereas previously mileage was only paid for one way travel. The current reimbursement rate for mileage is $0.34/mileage and will be calculated from the jurors address to and from the assigned courthouse.


Additionally, jurors using public transportation will be able to submit a Public Transportation Reimbursement request form to receive travel reimbursement for using any mode of local public transportation to arrive to the courthouse. The reimbursement rate for public transportation will be up to $12/day. The form will be available at each jury reporting location.

Consistent with Governor Newsom’s “Beyond the Blueprint” plan, the Superior Court of Alameda County (Court) has reopened all courthouses to the public and restored additional in-person services beginning June 15, 2021.

If you received a summons

If you have been summoned for jury duty, please report as directed. You may check your reporting instructions using any of the following methods:

  1. Visit the Jury Reporting Instructions page on this website to see if your group is required to report on the subsequent business day
  2. Check JPORTAL website
  3. Call the Interactive Voice Response Line at (510) 879-3079.

Thank you to all jurors for your service. Please be assured that the Court is continuing to take steps to ensure the health and safety of all who come to court by following public health guidance and Cal/OSHA regulations.

All visitors will also be required to self-screen by reviewing a health screening survey. Do not enter court facilities if you have answered “yes” to any of the questions in the health screening survey.

Consistent with Governor Newsom ending the statewide COVID-19 State of Emergency on Tuesday, February 28, 2023, and in alignment with that decision, effective March 1, 2023, the Court is no longer requiring persons to wear a mask while inside a courthouse.  Masks are still strongly recommended and anyone who chooses to wear a mask will be allowed to do so.

For more information, please visit the Court’s COVID-19 page.

Instructions for all jurors

1. Read the summons

The date of your appearance is on the jury postcard you were mailed.

2.Register at portal

Please use the Court’s juror portal, JPORTAL, where you can register and complete a set of juror eligibility questions as well as complete the questionnaire. This will save you time on your reporting day. JPORTAL can also be used to sign-up for email or text auto-notifications and to request an excusal or deferral.

  • You must also complete the juror questionnaire six (6) or more days prior to your service date.
  • The court will consider excusals for undue hardship for a limited number of serious circumstances. Most hardships are addressed the first day of service with the Judge. You may complete a hardship request six (6) or more days prior to your service date.

3.Inform your employer

Your employer must allow you time off for jury duty. Employers cannot terminate an employee called for jury service as long as the employee gives reasonable notice of the summons.

4.Watch the Video

Click here to watch the Juror Orientation video before you come to court.

5. Check your reporting instructions

Your summons has instructions on how to find out if you must report on your first day and the subsequent days of your week on-call. You may check reporting instructions using any of the following methods:

  1. Visit the Jury Reporting Instructions page on this website to see if your group is required to report on the subsequent business day
  2. Check JPORTAL website
  3. Call the Interactive Voice Response Line at (510) 879-3079

6. Your day in court

If on the day you are required to report you are ill, have a fever, are experiencing chills, shortness of breath, or are experiencing other symptoms associated with COVID-19, please do not come to court. Instead call 510-891-6031 or email to explain your condition and request a deferral of your jury service.

If directed to report, plan to attend court as a juror from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The time you are released will depend on the court's schedule. Please wear a mask or face covering, and dress appropriately. (Shorts, tank tops or bare feet are not permissible.) Please bring your own pen or pencil.

Jury reporting instructions

Visit the Jury Duty Reporting Page

For further assistance, please email

Jury Duty - IVR

IVR (Interactive Voice Response)-(510)729-8636-This service maybe used to process a deferral of your jury service, to obtain directions to each court location, reporting instructions for each court location, payment information regarding jury service, and to receive a work certification slip.

COVID-19 training for jurors

COVID-19 Prevention Program Training for Jurors

Issues viewing the training? Contact

Answering the call

Watch the National Center for State Courts video on the importance of answering the call for jury service: NCSC Jury Service Video

Frequently Asked Questions

You are eligible to serve as a juror if you are 18 years old, a U.S. citizen and a resident of the county or district where summoned. You must know enough English to understand the proceedings, and be physically and mentally capable of serving. In addition, you must not have served as any kind of juror in the past 12 months, must not be currently incarcerated in any prison or jail, and must not have been convicted of a malfeasance in office for which your civil rights have not been restored. Effective 1/1/2020, if you have been convicted of a felony, you are eligible to serve as a juror if you are not

  1. On parole, post-release community supervision, felony probation, or mandated supervision for the conviction of a felony; or,
  2. Required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Penal Code Section 290.

The objective of the court is to provide an accurate cross-section of the county's population. The names of jurors are selected at random from Franchise Tax Board, from everyone who is a registered voter and/or has a driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

After 5 P.M. on the Friday before your summons date and every night during your summons week, check our Jury Reporting Instructions page or call (510) 879-3079 to receive reporting instructions. Please check reporting instructions as your reporting location may change. You may check reporting instructions using any of the following methods:

  1. Visit the Jury Reporting Instructions page on this website to see if your group is required to report on the subsequent business day
  2. Check JPortal at JPortal Website
  3. Call the Interactive Voice Response Line at (510) 879-3079

If you have not already rescheduled your jury service once before, you may request that your service be rescheduled  to a more convenient time by logging on to our JPortal website, or by calling our IVR (Interactive Voice Response) service at (510) 879-3079. You may only reschedule your jury service one time to a different week, 3-6 months after your current summons date.

You may request to be excused for hardship by logging on to our JPortal website. If your request is not allowed on JPortal, you may need to contact the jury services office for further assistance by emailing or by calling the Jury Services Division at 510-891-6031. Only law enforcement officers as defined in Sec 830.1 & 830.2(a) of California Penal Code (CCP 219) are statutorily exempt from jury service by virtue of their occupation.

Section 230(a) of the California Labor Code reads: An employer may not discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee for taking time off to serve as required by law on an inquest jury or trial jury, if the employee, prior to taking the time off, give reasonable notice to the employer that he or she is required to serve.

Dress as you would to go to a business meeting or a social function. Do not wear shorts or tank tops. Check with the jury commissioner if you have any doubts.

Be alert and courteous. You may bring a book or newspaper to read while you're waiting for court to begin, or during recesses, but not while court is in session. While in a courtroom all cell phones and pagers should be turned off.

You should plan to attend court as a juror all day from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., but the hours may vary depending on the court's schedule. 

The judge may have to set the next day's calendar and dispose of other cases. Attorneys may also need time to prepare their witnesses and other aspects of the case.

Contact the jury commissioner's office as soon as you know that you are going to be late. If you are already assigned to a courtroom, contact the clerk of the court you are assigned to, in order to explain your situation. Remember: The trial cannot proceed until everyone is present. If you don't have a good excuse, the judge may fine you for being late!

Do not talk to anyone about the case until you are discharged from the jury. Not even the lawyers or the judge, except through the bailiff. Discussions with others can cause a mistrial because the juror gained evidence outside the record or was influenced. If any person persists in talking to you about the trial or attempts to influence your judgment as a juror, tell the bailiff. During deliberations at the end of the trial, you will naturally discuss the case with other jurors in order to reach a verdict.

No. Under no circumstances should you investigate the case on your own, either alone or with other jurors. You may not use the internet to investigate the case. You may not talk to witnesses, or do independent experiments. Your verdict must be based only on evidence produced in court. This rule ensures a fair trial based on evidence that all sides have seen and can challenge. If you violate this rule, you could cause a mistrial.

Such conferences are held to discuss legal issues, or to agree upon what evidence may be submitted for you to consider. These conferences often help expedite the trial or to avoid the possibility of a mistrial.

The presiding judge or jury commissioner of the court

No, you cannot.

Contact the court and let them know you have two summonses. You will have to report for jury duty for one of the summonses. This occurs when the DMV or Registrar of Voters has your name differently in their systems. It could be a middle initial missing or a maiden name not changed after marriage. Because our selection is random and doesn't contain information such as social security number or dates of birth, the system has no way of determining that you are one in the same person. This may happen more often unless you contact these agencies and correct your name. You may contact the Registrar of Voters office at (510) 272-6973 or your local DMV office.

The selection and management of jurors is governed by the Code of Civil Procedure. By law, potential jurors are selected RANDOMLY from the Voter Registration list and the Department of Motor Vehicles' drivers and identification card holders. If the information you provide to these two sources is not identical you may receive two summonses or you may be summoned more often than others.

You may not substitute someone else in your place for jury duty. The selection process is done randomly and must stay that way.

Contact the court immediately to reschedule your jury service.

You may contact the court to request an ADA accommodation at or (510) 891-6213.

Was this helpful?