Superior Court of California, County of Alameda

December 22, 2003

Contact: John Reymundo

Planning & Research Bureau

(510) 272-6752

For Immediate Release

New Court Fees, Fee Increases Effective January 1, 2004

(Oakland)—The Superior Court of California, County of Alameda announces new court filing fees and fee increases, as the result of Assembly Bill 296 (*approved by the Governor on October 10, 2003*) and Senate Bill 1732 (*statutes of 2002-2003*).

Fees charged and collected by California's trial courts are composed of base statewide fees and surcharges and applicable local fees. A list of the Alameda County fees that are impacted by these changes is attached to this press release. This list can also be obtained from the clerk's office in Alameda County court facilities or by visiting the Superior Court's web site at www.co.alameda.ca.us/courts. A complete chart of statewide fees and surcharges is available on the California Courts web site at www.courtinfo.ca.gov.



Superior Court of California County of Alameda

NOTICE OF FEE INCREASES (Effective 1-1-2004)

Assembly Bill 296 revised fees and established the additional security surcharge on specified civil cases. SB 1732 established surcharges that are deposited into the State Court Facilities Construction Fund. The surcharges are increased from \$10 to \$15 for certain unlimited jurisdiction civil, probate, and family law actions. Please find the impact of AB 296 and SB 1732 on our local fees below.

Ref#	Type of Filing	Current Fee	Revised Fee
	UNLIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES		
1.	Complaint, petition, or other first paper including transfer from another court	\$276.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$286.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
2.	Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment (no allegations of violence)	\$276.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$286.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
3.	Appeal on Labor Commissioner Award	\$276.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$286.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
4.	First paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party whether appearing separately or jointly	\$273.20 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$283.20 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	FAMILY LAW FILING FEES		
5.	Petition for Dissolution, Nullity, Legal Separation, or Paternity	\$276.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$286.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
6.	Joint verified petition for Summary Dissolution	\$301.50 (includes \$50.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$286.50 + \$50.00 one-time court reporter fee

<u>Ref #</u>	Type of Filing	Current Fee	Revised Fee
	FAMILY LAW FILING FEES (CONTINUED)		
7.	First paper on behalf of respondent	\$273.20 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$283.20 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	COMPLEX LITIGATION FILING FEES		
8.	Complex Case fee authorized by GC § 26826.4(f) is to be collected from those who have not paid the fee in each case the court determines to be complex. All parties who have not paid the fee shall pay the fee to the clerk within 10 calendar days of the filing of the court's order. The total complex fees collected from either side shall not exceed \$10,000 excluding fee surcharges.	\$550.00 as to each party	\$550.00
9.	Filing FIRST PAPER in a CIVIL action by a plaintiff requesting or pre-designating a case as a complex case as specified in the California Rules of Court:		
	Unlimited (more than \$25K) 1 st Paper fee per line item #1 + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$826.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$836.50+ \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	Limited (more than \$10K to \$25K) 1st Paper fee per line item #15a + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$826.50 + 25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$839.50 + \$ 25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	Limited (\$10K or less) 1st Paper fee per line item #16a + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$689.30	\$717.30
10.	FIRST PAPER on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party appearing that requests or opposes designation of a case as a complex case		
	Unlimited (more than \$25K) 1 st Paper fee per line item #4 + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$823.20 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$833.20 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	Limited (more than \$10K to \$25K) 1st Paper fee per line item #17 + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$\$826.50 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$839.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
	Limited (\$10K or less) 1st Paper fee per line item #18 + \$550.00 per line item #8	\$686.00	\$714.00
	PROBATE FILING FEES		
11.	FIRST petition for letters of guardianship or letters of conservatorship, special letters of administration without the powers of a general personal representative, petition for compromise of minor's claim, petition pursuant to ProbC §§ 13151 or 13650, petition to contest any will or codicil	\$251.50	\$286.50

<u>Ref #</u>	Type of Filing	Current Fee	Revised Fee
	PROBATE FILING FEES (CONTINUED)		
12.	(Decedent's Estate) FIRST petition for letters of administration or letters testamentary, special letters with the powers of a general personal representative pursuant to ProbC § 8545, first account of testamentary trustee when the estimated value of estate at the time of filing is:		
	Less than \$250k	\$251.50	\$286.50
	\$250k to less than \$500k	\$323.00	\$358.00
	\$500k to less than \$750k	\$433.00	\$468.00
	\$750k to less than \$1Million	\$598.00	\$633.00
	\$1M to less than 1.5M	\$1,148.00	\$1,183.00
	\$1.5M to less than \$2M	\$2,248.00	\$2,283.00
	\$2M to less than \$2.5M	\$2,798.00	\$2,833.00
	\$2.5M to less than \$3.5M	\$3,898.00	\$3,933.00
	\$3.5M or more	\$3,898.00 + 0.2% of amount over \$3.5M	\$3,933.00 + 0.2% of amount over \$3.5M
13.	SECOND or subsequent petition of a type described in item numbers 33 and 34 above in the same proceeding by a person other than the original petitioner (No fee for original petitioner)	\$251.50	\$286.50
14.	FIRST paper on behalf of adverse party or party other than original petitioner	\$248.20	\$283.20
	LIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES		
15a.	Complaint, petition, or other first paper including transfer from another court where the demand is more than \$10,000 up to \$25,000 stated on face on complaint	\$276.50 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$289.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
15b.	Unlawful Detainer where the demand is more than \$10,000 up to \$25,000 stated on face on complaint	\$280.50 + \$25.00 for each add'l Plaintiff	\$293.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee
16a.	Complaint, petition, or other first paper including transfer from another court where the demand is \$10,000 or less stated on face on complaint	\$139.30	\$167.30
16b.	Unlawful Detainer where the demand is \$10,000 or less stated on face on complaint	\$143.30	\$171.30
	FIRST paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party whether appearing separately or jointly in response to a complaint with a demand of more than \$10,000 up to \$25,000	\$276.50 (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$289.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee

<u>Ref #</u>	Type of Filing	Current Fee	Revised Fee
17.	LIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES (CONTINUED) FIRST paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party whether appearing separately or jointly in response to a complaint with a demand of \$10,000 or less	\$136.00	\$164.00
19a.	MISCELLANEOUS AND OTHER FILING FEE FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is more than \$25,000:	\$273.20 + motion fee (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$283.20 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee + motion fee
19b.	FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is more than \$10,000 up to \$25,000:	\$276.50 + motion fee (includes \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee)	\$289.50 + \$25.00 one-time court reporter fee + motion fee
19c.	FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is \$10,000 or less:	\$136.00 + motion fee	\$164.00 + motion fee