Superior Court of California
COUNTY OF ALAMEDA

February 13, 2024

Notice to Attorneys and to All Interested Parties:

Invitation to Comment on Proposed Amendments to Local Rules and Forms

As required by California Rules of Court, Rule 10.613(g), the Superior Court of California, County
of Alameda hereby distributes for public comment the attached proposal to amend its local rule.

The proposal also may be viewed here or here. In addition, a hard copy of the proposal is available upon
request by email at pcomments@alameda.courts.ca.gov or by phone at 510-891-6012.

Important dates:

e The last day to comment is March 29, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.

e The proposed amendment takes effect upon approval of the Chair of the Judicial Council or on July 1,
2024, whichever is sooner.

Text of Proposed Rules and Amendments: see attached.

Comments must be submitted in writing to:

Andrew Taylor

Superior Court of California, County of Alameda
1225 Fallon Street, Room 209

Oakland, CA 94612

E-mail: pcomments@alameda.courts.ca.gov



http://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/Pages.aspx/Public-Notices
http://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/Pages.aspx/Invitation-to-Comment-Proposed-Amendments
mailto:pcomments@alameda.courts.ca.gov
mailto:pcomments@alameda.courts.ca.gov

Local Rules of the Superior Court
of California, County of Alameda

Appendix C

Conservatorship (Probate & LPS) and Guardianship Fee Guidelines
for the Public Guardian, the County Counsel, and the Public Defender

No fee or charge shall be taken without a prior written order of the court setting forth
the fee or charge.

No fee or charge may be anticipated nor property encumbered without a prior written
order of the court setting forth the fee, charge, and/or encumbrance.

When there is a difference, the provisions in the Appendix supersede the provisions
in the main text of the local rules.

Size of estate Fee guidelines

$774.99 and under | -O-

11 % of balance to Public Guardian
$775—-1,499 9 % of balance to County Counsel
9 % of balance to Public Defender

16% of balance, with a maximum of $ 4-500-1,800 to Public Guardian
$1,500 — 14,999 11% of balance, with a maximum of $ 4,200-1,440 to County Counsel
11% of balance, with a maximum of $ 4,200-1,440 to Public Defender

10 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 2,000-2.400 to Public Guardian
$15,000 — 44,999 8 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 4,8002,160 to County Counsel
8 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 4-80802,160 to Public Defender

4.5 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 2:6003,120 to Public Guardian
$45,000 — 74,999 4% of balance, with a maximum of $ 2,250-2,700 to County Counsel
4 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 2,250-2,700 to Public Defender

3.5 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 3,450-3,780 to Public Guardian
$75,000 — 104,999 3 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 2,8753,450 to County Counsel
3 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 2,8753,450 to Public Defender

3 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 3.7704,520 to Public Guardian
$105,000 — 129,999 | 2.75 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 3;5004,200 to County Counsel
2.75 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 3;5004,200 to Public Defender

2.9 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 7,0008,400 to Public Guardian
$130,000 — 244,999 | 2.7 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 6;0007,200 to County Counsel
2.7 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 6,0007,200 to Public Defender

2.9 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 8:50010,200 to Public Guardian
$245,000 and above | 2.7 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 7,0008,400 to County Counsel
2.7 % of balance, with a maximum of $ 7,0008,400 to Public Defender




Local Rules of the Superior Court
of California, County of Alameda

Appendix C

Conservatorship (Probate & LPS) and Guardianship Fee Guidelines
for the Public Guardian, the County Counsel, and the Public Defender

(a) Fees generally

The Public Guardian, County Counsel, and Public Defender may claim annual
fees pursuant to the above schedule without the need for itemized or hourly

(b) _ Claims for case set up and investigation

In probate cases, there is a case set up and investigation claim of $2,000
2,400 by the Public Guardian and a case set up claim of $1,7002,040 by
County Counsel. These are requested at the time of the general plan and
shall only be taken upon written court approval. The Public Defender may
claim a case set up fee of $1,7002,040.

There is also an investigation fee for all cases in which the Public Guardian
investigates of $8501,020, regardless of whether the Public Guardian is
appointed conservator.

(bc) Claims for extraordinary compensation on sales of real property

Additionally, there may be a claim by the Public Guardian of $1,5601,800 and
by the County Counsel of $1,2001,440 on sales of real property. If the Public
Guardian seeks an amount more than $1,5001,800 then the entire amount
must be_supported by declarations providing detailed information as to the
services rendered. The Public Guardian may claim $560600 on sales of
personal property over $1,5001,800. These claims may be taken only upon
written court approval.

(ed) Estates with substantial non-liquid assets
For estates with substantial non-liquid assets, Public Guardian, County
Counsel, and Public Defender fees will be reserved until such time as the
assets are liquidated or until the conservatee is deceased, whichever is
sooner.

(de) Claims for extraordinary legal services
For cases requiring extraordinary legal services, the County Counsel and the
Public Defender may submit itemized billings with the accounts, in declaration
form, for fees in excess of the schedule amounts.

(ef) Miscellaneous fee provisions _for final accounts where the conservatee




Local Rules of the Superior Court
of California, County of Alameda

Appendix C

Conservatorship (Probate & LPS) and Guardianship Fee Guidelines
for the Public Guardian, the County Counsel, and the Public Defender

or ward is deceased

(1) b aeem e mne e componncne o0 o e e e
deceased;-the- The fee waiver provision is not applicable. The Public
Guardian, County Counsel, and Public Defender will claim 40%, 30%,
and 30% respectively of the estate balance up to-$4,600 a maximum
of $5,520.

(2) In cases where the Public Defender is not appointed, the Public
Guardian and County Counsel will claim 55% and 45% respectively of
the estate balance up to-$3,400 a maximum of $4,080.

(3) On estates with balances on hand of $78,000 and over, the Public
Guardian, County Counsel and Public Defender will claim fees
pursuant to the schedule.

4) In cases where the Public Guardian and County Counsel have
followed the Probate Code section 2631 procedure to liquidate the
decedent’s estate and pay debts, additional fees of $900-1,080 to the
Public Guardian and $560600 to the County Counsel will be claimed.
Fees claimed will be taken only upon written court approval.

Appendix C amended effective-July-1.-2017 July 1, 2024; adopted as Attachment C
to Chapter 12 of the Local Rules effective July 1, 1999; previously amended effective
January 1, 2004, previously reenacted and renumbered effective July 1, 2008;
previously amended effective July 1, 2010; previously amended effective July 1,
2017.




	Notice to Attorneys and to All Interested Parties:



