
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 

Effective October 10, 2003 
 
 

Arthur Sims, Court Executive Officer 
 
 

René C. Davidson Courthouse 
1225 Fallon Street 
Oakland, CA  94612 
(510) 272-6503  (Civil) 
(510) 208-4900  (Family Law/TRO) 
(510) 208-9651  (Probate) 
 
 
Hayward Hall of Justice 
24405 Amador Street 
Hayward, CA  94544 
(510) 670-5059  (Civil) 
(510) 670-6432  (Family Law/TRO) 
(510) 670-6645  (Probate) 
(510) 670-5059  (Small Claims) 
 
 
Gale/Schenone Hall of Justice 
5672 Stoneridge Drive 
Pleasanton, CA  94588 
(925) 803-7123  (Civil) 
(925) 803-7123  (Family Law/TRO) 
(925) 803-7123  (Probate) 
(925) 803-7123  (Small Claims) 
 
 
Allen E. Broussard Justice Center 
600 Washington Street 
Oakland, CA  94607 
(510) 268-7724  (Civil) 
(510) 268-7737  (Small Claims) 
 

Fremont Hall of Justice 
39439 Paseo Padre Parkway 
Fremont, CA  94538 
(510) 795-2360  (Civil / Small Claims) 
(510) 795-2379  (Family Law / TRO) 
(510) 795-2388  (Probate) 
 
 
Berkeley Courthouse 
2000 Center Street 
Berkeley, CA  94704 
(510) 644-8999  (Civil/Small Claims / TRO) 
 
 
 
 
 
George E. McDonald Hall of Justice 
2233 Shoreline Drive 
Alameda, CA  94501 
(510) 268-7479 (Civil/Small Claims / TRO) 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

FILING FEES 

Civil First Paper - Complaints 
Item 
No. Type of Service Authority Total Fee 

1a Filing FIRST PAPER in a CIVIL action – Unlimited (more than $25K)
 

See App. 
#1a  
 

$ 276.50 + $ 25.00 
each add’l Plaintiff.

 
1b CIVIL - Limited (more than $10K to $25K) 

 
See App. 
#1b 
 

$ 276.50 + $ 25.00 
each add’l Plaintiff.

 
1c CIVIL - Limited Unlawful Detainer (more than $10K to $25K) 

 
See App. 
#1c 
 

$ 280.50 + $ 25.00 
each add’l Plaintiff.

 
1d CIVIL - Limited (less than $10K) 

 
See App. 
#1d 
 

$ 139.30 
 

1e CIVIL - Limited Unlawful Detainer (less than $10K) 
 

See App. 
#1e 
 

$ 143.30 

2 Public entity as plaintiff: 
 

a. Complaint where the plaintiff is the State of California, or any 
County, City, Distrcit, or other political subdivision, or a public 
officer or board or body acting in an official capacity on behalf 
of the State, or any County, City, District, or other political 
subdivision 

 
b. Action or proceeding to establish or enforce a child support 

order where the District Attorney or local child support agency 
is the plaintiff or petitioner 

 

 
 
GC § 6103 
 
 
 
 
GC § 6103 

 
 

NO FEE 
 
 
 
 
 

NO FEE 

3 Complaint in civil action or special proceeding where the National 
Government is plaintiff or petitioner 
 

See App. 
#3 

$ 28.00 

4 Certified copy of complaint together with an affidavit for examination of 
proceedings in county of third party's residence 
 

CCP § 
491.150 

$ 12.00 

5 Application for an Order of Sale of a homestead/dwelling house upon 
judgment being rendered in another county 
 

CCP § 
704.750 

$ 12.00 

6a Abstract of Judgment on proceedings from another county where the 
demand is more than $25K 
 

CCP § 
708.160 

$ 12.00 

6b Abstract of Judgment on proceedings from another county where the 
demand is $25K or less 
 

GC § 
72059 

$ 20.00 

7 Confession of Judgment 
 

CCP § 
1134 

$ 15.00 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Civil First Paper – Complaints (continued) 

8 Filing an amended complaint or amendment to a complaint, cross-
complaint, amended cross-complaint or amendment to a cross-
complaint.  The fee shall not apply to any of the following: 
 

(1) An amended pleading or amendment to a pleading ordered 
by the court to be filed; 

 
(2) An amended pleading or amendment to a pleading that only 

names previously fictitiously named defendants 
 

GC § 
72056.01. 
See App. 
#8 

For Unlimited 
Jurisdiction Civil-

NO FEE ; 
 
 

For Limited 
Jurisdiction Civil-  
$ 49.50 (fee shall 
not apply more 
than one time in 

any action). 

Civil First Paper – Petitions / Other 

9a Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment with NO allegations of 
violence 
 

See App. 
under #1a 
 

$ 276.50 

9b Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment with allegations of 
violence 
 

CCP § 
527(h) 

NO FEE 

10 Appeal for trial de novo hearing on Labor Commissioner Award 
 

See App. 
under #1a 

$ 276.50 

Civil Subsequent First Paper 

11 Filing the FIRST PAPER in a civil action on behalf of EACH 
defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party, whether 
separately or jointly, except for the purpose of making a disclaimer, 
where the demand of the complaint is more than $25K.  Below is the 
fee when more than one party appears on the same pleading: 
 
When 2 appear:    $   546.40;             When   7 appear:    $1,912.40 
When 3 appear:    $   819.60              When   8 appear:    $2,185.60 
When 4 appear:    $1,092.80              When   9 appear:    $2,458.80 
When 5 appear:    $1,366.00              When 10 appear:    $2,732.00 
When 6 appear:    $1,639.20 
 

See App. 
#11 

$ 273.20 

12 Filing the FIRST PAPER in a civil action on behalf of EACH 
defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party, whether 
separately or jointly, except for the purpose of making a disclaimer, 
where the demand of the complaint is more than $10K up to $25K.  
Below is the fee when more than one party appears on the same 
pleading: 
 
When 2 appear:    $   553.00;             When   7 appear:    $1,935.50 
When 3 appear:    $   829.50              When   8 appear:    $2,212.00 
When 4 appear:    $1,106.00              When   9 appear:    $2,488.50 
When 5 appear:    $1,382.50              When 10 appear:    $2,765.00 
When 6 appear:    $1,659.00 

See App. 
#12 

$ 276.50 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Civil Subsequent First Paper (continued) 

13 Filing the FIRST PAPER in a civil action on behalf of EACH 
defendant, intervenor, respondent, or adverse party, whether 
separately or jointly, except for the purpose of making a disclaimer, 
where the demand of the complaint is $10K or less.  Below is the fee 
when more than one party appears on the same pleading: 
 
When 2 appear:    $272.00;             When   7 appear:    $   952.00 
When 3 appear:    $408.00              When   8 appear:    $1,088.00 
When 4 appear:    $544.00              When   9 appear:    $1,224.00 
When 5 appear:    $680.00              When 10 appear:    $1,360.00 
When 6 appear:    $816.00 
 

See App. 
#13 

$ 136.00 

14 FIRST PAPER of the National Government See App. 
#14 
 

$ 28.00 

15 FIRST PAPER by the State, any County, City, District, or other 
political subdivision, or any public officer or body acting in his or its 
official capacity on behalf of the State, any County, City, District, or 
other political subdivision 
 

GC § 6103 NO FEE 

16 Response to Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment alleging 
violence or threats of violence 

See App. 
#16 

NO FEE 

Civil Motions 

17 Notice of motion or any other papers requiring a hearing subsequent 
to the first paper, or any notice of intention to move for a new trial of 
any civil action or special proceeding, an application for renewal of a 
judgment, and an order for examination of judgment debtor.  Excludes 
documents specifically set forth in GC 26830 
 

GC § 
26830 & 
68087. See 
App. #17 

$ 36.30 

18 Motion for Continuance of Trial (payable only if motion is granted) 
[Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058 are exempt] 
 

See App. 
#18 

$ 110.00 

19 Notice of Motion for Summary Judgment See App. 
#19 
 

$ 165.00 

20 Fee For Change of Venue or Transfer to Another Court. 
 

When the transfer is sought as specified in CCP § 397 (b), (c), (d), 
and (e), the costs and fees thereof, and of filing the papers in the 
court to which the transfer is ordered, shall be paid by the moving 
party when the notice of motion for such transfer is filed. 
 

When the transfer is ordered or is sought solely because the 
action was not commenced in the proper court, the plaintiff must 
pay the costs and fees before the transfer is made. 

NOTE:  When the venue in a case is changed, the fee for preparing 
and transmitting the transcript and papers is $25.30 and a further sum 
equal to the total filing fee in the court to which the case is transferred.  
The clerk shall transmit the total filing fee with the papers in the case 
to the clerk or judge of the court to which the case is transferred. 

GC 26823; 
CCP § 397 
& 399.  See 
App. #20 

$ 25.30 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Civil Motions (continued) 
21 Civil Case Reclassification:  upon the filing of a pleading that changes 

the jurisdictional classification from limited to unlimited or upon the 
making of an order for reclassification by the court 

See App. 
#21 

$ 137.50 

Complex Designation Fee 

22 Filing a COMPLAINT requesting or pre-designating a case as a 
complex case as specified in the California Rules of Court 

See App. 
#22 

$ 826.50 + $ 25.00 
each add’l Plaintiff.

 
23 FIRST paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, respondent, or 

adverse party appearing that requests or opposes designation of a 
case as a complex case:  Below is the fee when more than one party 
appears on the same pleading: 
 
When 2 appear:    $1,646.40;             When   7 appear:    $5,762.40 
When 3 appear:    $2,469.60              When   8 appear:    $6,585.60 
When 4 appear:    $3,292.80              When   9 appear:    $7,408.80 
When 5 appear:    $4,116.00              When 10 appear:    $8,232.00 
When 6 appear:    $4,939.20 
 

See App. 
#23 

$ 823.20 
 

24 When a case is designated by the court to be a complex case, the fee 
authorized by GC § 26826.4 is to be collected from those who have 
not paid the fee.  The collection will be as follows:  one fee per 
plaintiff’s side and a fee from each defendant.  The fee is payable to 
the clerk within 10 days of the filing of the court’s order 

See App. 
#24 

$ 550.00 to be paid 
from those who 
have not paid 
the complex 

designation fee. 

Jury Fee Deposit 
25 First day’s fees to be deposited with the Clerk at least 25 days* before 

the date case is set for trial.  *Exception:  Unlawful Detainer Actions – 
5 days. 
 
If the depositing party does not submit a written request for a refund of 
jury fees deposited with the judge or clerk within 20 business days 
from the date the action is settled, dismissed or a continuance thereof 
granted, then the fees shall be transmitted to the state controller’s 
office for deposit into the trial court trust fund [CCP § 631.3]. 
 

CCP § 215 
& 631, et 
seq; LR 4.6 

$ 150.00 

26 Daily fee per juror collected for each day’s attendance as a juror after 
the first day.  Mileage collected for each day’s attendance as a juror 
after the first day is at the rate of 34 cents per mile one-way only. 
 

CCP § 215 $ 15.00 

Official Reporting Services 

27 Daily fee for services of official reporting services on the first and each 
succeeding judicial day those services are provided pursuant to 
CCP § 269 (any period of judicial time in excess of four hours) 
 

See App. 
#27 

$ 440.00 

28 Daily fee for one-half day of official reporting services on the first and 
each succeeding judicial day those services are provided pursuant to 
CCP 269 (any period for judicial time in excess of one hour but not 
more than four hours during either the morning or afternoon court 
session 

See App. 
#28 

$ 220.00 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Witness Fees 

29 Witness fee per day plus $.20 per mile actually traveled both ways GC § 
68093 
 

$ 35.00 

30 Witness fee deposit per day for any Peace Officer or person as 
defined in Penal Code § 830; to be paid to the officer’s agency 
 

See App. 
#30 

$ 165.00 

Probate Fees 

31 (Decedent’s Estate)  FIRST petition for letters of administration, 
special letters, letters testamentary, first account of testamentary 
trustee when the estimated value of estate at time of filing is: 
 

Less than $250K

$250K to less than $500K

$500K to less than $750K

$750K to less than 1Million

$1M to less than $1.5M

$1.5M to less than $2M

$2M to less than 2.5M

$2.5M to less than 3.5M

$3.5M or more

See App. 
#31 

 
 
 
 

$ 251.50 

$ 323.00 

$ 433.00 

$ 598.00 

$ 1,148.00 

$ 2,248.00 

$ 2,798.00 

$ 3,898.00 

$ 3,898.00 + 0.2% 
of amount over 

$3.5M 

32 FIRST petition for letters of guardianship, petition for letters of 
conservatorship, petition for compromise of minor’s claim, petition 
pursuant to ProbC §§ 13151 or 1365, petition to contest any will or 
codicil 
 

See App. 
#32 

$ 251.50 

33 (Decedent’s Estate)  SECOND or subsequent petition in the same 
proceeding by a person other than the original petitioner (No fee for 
original petitioner) 
 

See App. 
under #32  

$ 251.50 

34 SECOND or subsequent petition in the same proceeding by a person 
other than the original petitioner for letters of guardianship, petition for 
letters of conservatorship, petition for compromise of minor’s claim, 
petition pursuant to ProbC §§ 13151 or 1365, petition to contest any 
will or codicil  (No fee for original petitioner) 
 

See App. 
under #32 

$ 251.50 

35 Public body or officer GC § 6103 NO FEE 
 

36 FIRST paper of the National Government See App. 
#36 

$ 28.00 
 

37 FIRST paper in a probate action on behalf of any defendant, 
intervenor, respondent, or adverse party, whether separately or jointly, 
except for the purpose of making disclaimer 
 
See next page for additional parties-- 

See App. 
#37 

$ 248.20 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Probate Fees (continued) 

37 
(Cont’d 
from 
above)  

Below is the fee when more than one party appears on the same 
pleading: 
 
When 2 appear:    $   496.40;             When   7 appear:    $1,737.40 
When 3 appear:    $   744.60              When   8 appear:    $1,985.60 
When 4 appear:    $   992.80              When   9 appear:    $2,233.80 
When 5 appear:    $1,241.00              When 10 appear:    $2,482.00 
When 6 appear:    $1,489.20 
 

See above $ 248.20 for each 
add’l party 

38 Subsequent paper in a probate action that requires a court 
hearing except for documents specifically set forth in 
Government Code § 26827.4.  i.e., 
 

(1) Probate Code § 10501; 
 
(2) Accountings of trustees of testamentary trusts that are 

subject to the continuing jurisdiction of the court 
pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 
17300) of Part 5 of Division 9 of the Probate Code; 

 
(3) Division 4 (commencing with Section 1400) of the 

Probate Code 
 
Objections to any papers exempt from the fee imposed by this 
section are subject to the filing fee of $25.30 
 

See App. 
#38 

$ 25.30 

39 Notice of intention to move for a new trial GC § 
26830 
 

$ 36.30 

40 For filing of an Affidavit under ProbC § 13200 and the issuance of 
one certified copy of the Affidavit under ProbC § 13202 
 

ProbC § 
13201 

$ 35.00 

41 Petition to establish record of birth, death, or marriage See App. 
#41 
 

$ 34.00 

42 "Handbook for Conservators" including supplement 
 

ProbC § 
1835 

$ 20.00 

43 Receiving and storing of Estate Planning document 
 

See App. 
#43 

$ 10.00 

44 Registration of private professional conservator, guardian, trustee 
[ProbC § 2340 – 2343]: 
 

Initial Fee

Renewal Fee

ProbC § 
2343 

 
 
 

$ 100.00 

$ 50.00 

45 Guardianship Investigator's Fee – Guardianship of the Person 
or Person & Estate 

ProbC § 
1513.1 

$ 450.00 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Probate Fees (continued) 

46 Guardianship Investigator's Fee – Guardianship of Estate only ProbC § 
1513.1 
 

$ 450.00 

47 Conservatorship Investigator's Fee – Conservatorship of the 
Estate or Person & Estate 

ProbC § 
1851.5 

$ 450.00 

Family Law Fees 

48 Petition for Dissolution, Legal Separation, Nullity, or Paternity 
 

See App. 
#48 
 

$ 276.50 

49 Joint verified petition for Summary Dissolution of Marriage 
 

See App. 
#49 

$ 301.50 

50 Action or proceeding to establish or enforce a child support 
order where the District Attorney or local child support agency is 
the plaintiff or petitioner 
 

See App. 
#50 

NO FEE 

51 Petition for, response, or modification of a protective order filed in 
a domestic violence proceeding 
 

FC § 6222 NO FEE 

52 Petition for adoption; per adoptee See App. 
#52 
 

$ 20.00 

53 FIRST paper in a Family Law Action for Dissolution, Legal 
Separation, Nullity, or Paternity on behalf of any defendant, 
intervenor, respondent, or adverse party, whether separately or 
jointly, except for the purpose of making disclaimer 
 
For Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058 
 

See App. 
#53 
 
 
 
 
”        ” 

$ 273.20 
 
 
 
 
 

$ 228.20 

54 Motion, order to show cause, or other proceeding seeking to 
modify or enforce that portion of any judgment or order entered in 
this state or any other state which orders or awards the custody of 
a minor child or children or which specifies the rights of any party 
to the proceeding to visitation of a minor child or children 
 
For Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058 
 

See App. 
#54 
 
 
 
 
 
”        ” 

$ 58.30 
 
 
 
 
 
 

$ 47.30 

55 Any notice of motion, or any other papers requiring a hearing 
subsequent to the first paper, other than specified in item 54 
above 
For Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058 

GC § 
26830 
 
See App. 
#55 

$ 36.30 
 
 
 

$ 25.30 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Family Law Fees (continued) 

56 For entering Final Judgment of Legal Separation / Nullity or 
Dissolution in cases where Petition was filed before July 1, 1984 

See App. 
#56 
 

$ 4.00 

57 Statement to Register Foreign Support Order FL § 
4927(a) 
 

NO FEE 

58 Appearance, Stipulation and Waiver in dissolution (WHEN 
RESPONDENT IS A MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES) 

GC § 
26857.5 

NO FEE 

Small Claims Fees 

59 Small Claims Action (1 to 12 claims per year) See App. 
#59 
 

$ 22.00 

60 Small Claims Action (13 or more claims filed by the same party 
during previous 12 months) 

See App. 
#60 
 

$ 66.00 

61 Claim of Defendant 1 to 12 claims per year) See App. 
#61 
 

$ 22.00 

62 Claim of Defendant (13 or more claims filed by the same party 
during previous 12 months) 

See App. 
#62 
 

$ 66.00 

63 Service of Claim by Certified Mail See App. 
#63 
 

$ 8.80 

64 Transfer fee for Small Claims action CCP § 
116.390(b) 
 

$ 1.00 

65 Request for Postponement CCP § 
116.570 
 

$ 10.00 

66 Payment of Judgment to Court CCP § 
116.860 
 

$ 25.00 

67 Motion or any paper requiring a hearing See App. 
#67 
 

$ 15.40 

68 Notice of Motion to Vacate Judgment 
 

CCP § 
116.745.  
See App. 
under #67 

$ 15.40 

Notice of Appeal 

69 Notice of Appeal for an Unlimited Jurisdiction matter [California 
Rules of Court, Rule 1] Make check payable to “Clerk of the Court 
of Appeal”. 

CRC Rule 
1(b)(1) 

$ 655.00 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

 

Notice of Appeal (continued) 

70 Deposit - Unlimited Jurisdiction matter:  Clerk's Transcript(s), or 
any other appeal, processing or notification.  The deposit shall be 
forfeited in the event of abandonment or dismissal of appeal prior 
to filing of the record in the reviewing court.  Make check payable 
to “Clerk of Superior Court.” 

CRC Rule 
1(b)(2) 

$ 100.00 

71 Notice of Appeal for a Limited Jurisdiction matter (furnish 
original & 1 copy) 

See App. 
#71 

$ 89.00 

72 Notice of Appeal for a Small Claims Court matter See App. 
#72 

$ 89.00 

73 Notice of Appeal - Parking Citation 
 

VC § 
40230(b) 

$ 25.00 

74 Notice of Appeal – Administrative Proceedings 
 

GC § 
53069.4  

$25.00 

75 Notice of Appeal – Vicious Dog F&A § 
31622 

$20.00 

Copy and Certification Fees 

76 Preparing copy per page See App. 
#76 
 

$ .75 

77 For comparing with original on file in the office of the clerk, the 
copy of any paper, record, or proceeding prepared by another and 
presented for clerk’s certificate per page 
 

See App. 
#77 

$ 1.10 

78 Certifying to copy of paper, record or proceeding on file in Clerk's 
Office (in addition to preparing or comparing) 
 

See App. 
#78 

$ 6.60 

79 Exemplification of record or paper (in addition to preparing or 
comparing) 
 

GC § 
26839 

$ 20.00 

80 Every certificate where no fee is fixed (in addition to preparing, 
comparing, or searching records) includes Superior Court 
approval of a Notice of Pendency of Action 

See App. 
#80 

$ 6.60 

81 Certificate of satisfaction of judgment CCP § 
724.100 
 

$ 3.00 

82 Certified copy of Marriage Dissolution Record (Plus $.75 for 
additional pages [GC § 26831, BOS  91-33)]): 

(a) Public Agencies: 
(b) All Others:  

See App. 
#82 

 
 

$ 5.50 

$ 11.00 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Copy and Certification Fees (continued) 

83 For authentication of each signature pursuant to Court order See App. 
#83 

$ 6.60 

84 Certificate of Revivor GC § 
26847 

$2.00 

Miscellaneous and Other Fees 

85 Issuance of writ of attachment or mandate, writ of execution, writ 
of sale, writ of prohibition, writ of possession, or any other writ 
for the enforcement of any order or judgment 
 

GC § 
26828 

$ 7.00 

86 Issuing an Abstract of Judgment GC § 
26834 
 

$ 7.00 

87 Issuance of an Order of Sale GC § 
26829 
 

$ 20.00 

88 Issuing and Certifying a Certificate of Facts re: Unsatisfied 
Judgment.  The certificate of facts must be accompanied by a 
certified copy of the judgment for which there are additional fees: 
 
Certificate of Facts ($6) submitted with a copy of judgment 
(comparing copy of one-page judgment ($1.10), certifying 
judgment ($6.60) = $13.70 
 
Certificate of Facts ($6) submitted without a copy of judgment 
(preparing copy of one-page judgment (75¢), certifying judgment 
($6.60) = $13.35 
 
If creditor requests the clerk to forward the certificate of facts 
and the accompanying documents to DMV, the creditor must 
provide a separate check payable to DMV in the amount of $20, 
and a prepaid envelope addressed to DMV in addition to the 
above 
 

VC § 16373 $ 6.00 

89 Taking an affidavit, except in criminal cases or adoption 
proceedings 
 

See App. 
#89 

$ 6.60 

90 Search of records or files (per name, per year) 
 

See App. 
#90 
 

$ 5.00 

91 Search of records or files (per name, per year) – Probate GC 
26827.7 
 

$ 5.00 

92 Taking acknowledgment of any deed or other instrument, 
including the certificate, each signature 
 

See App. 
#92 

$ 6.60 

93 Preparation of Certificate of Clerk prior to filing of record of 
appeal in reviewing court 

See App. 
#93 

$ 25.30 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

 

Miscellaneous and Other Fees (continued) 

94 Filing and indexing all papers for which a charge is not 
elsewhere provided, other than papers filed in actions or special 
proceedings. 
Docketing of awards as judgment under Workers Compensation 
Proceeding  [Labor Code § 5811]; 
Filing Out of State Deposition [Code of Civil Procedure § 2019] 

GC § 
26850.1 & 
68087 

$ 6.60 
 
 

$6.60 
 

$6.60 

Criminal Fees 

95 Motion To Set Aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside 
Summary Judgment in a criminal action 
 

See App. 
#95 

$36.30 

96 FIRST PAPER fee in a criminal action on a Motion To Set 
Aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary Judgment: 
 

a If the amount of the bail bond is more than $25K 
 

b If the amount of the bail bond is more than $10K up to 
$25K 

 
c If the amount of the bail bond is $10K or less 

See App. 
#96 

 
 

$ 273.20 + 
Motion Fee 

 

$ 276.50 + 
Motion Fee 

 

$ 136.00 + 
Motion Fee 

Marriage Fees (services provided at Hayward Hall of Justice; Fremont Hall of Justice; and 
Gale/Schenone Hall of Justice 

97 Issuing a Marriage License 
 

See App. 
#97 

$ 67.00 

98 Issuing a Confidential Marriage License 
  

See App. 
#98 

$ 78.00 

99 Issuing a duplicate marriage license and certificate of registry 
 

FC § 360(c) $5.00 

100 Marriage Ceremony performed by Deputy Marriage 
Commissioner 

BOS 
Ordinance 
R-0-90-856 

$ 50.00 

FAX Filing Fee 

101 FAX Filings by direct FAX CRC Rule 
2006g &  
LR 1.8 
 

$1.00 per page 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

 
 

Court Holiday Schedule 

1 January 1, 2003 – New Year’s Day 
2 January 20, 2003 – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday 
3 February 12, 2003 – Lincoln’s Birthday 
4 February 17, 2003 – President’s Day 
5 March 31, 2003 – Cesar Chavez Day 
6 May 26, 2003 – Memorial Day 
7 July 4, 2003 – Independence Day 
8 September 1, 2003 – Labor Day 
9 October 13, 2003 – Columbus Day 
10 November 11, 2003 – Veteran’s Day 
11 November 27, 2003 – Thanksgiving Day 
12 November 28, 2003 – Day after Thanksgiving 
13 December 25, 2003 – Christmas Day 
14 January 1, 2004 – New Year’s day 
 
 
Filing Requirements: 
 
Please refer to Title II, Pretrial and Trial Rules of the California Rules of Court (commencing with Rule § 200) 
and the Court’s Local Rules for general information regarding filing requirements. 
 
 
Information about Local Rules 
 
The Local Rules of the Superior Court of California, County of Alameda, are available at: 
 
• Alameda County Law Library, 125 Twelfth Street, Oakland, CA  

• Alameda County Law Library – South County Branch, 224 W. Winton Ave, Room 162, Hayward, CA 
 
The Local Rules are also available on the Superior Court Web site: 

http://www.co.alameda.ca.us.courts 
 
The Local Rules are available for purchase from the list below.  Each offers a complete set of the local rules 
and will provide you with updates as rules are changed.  You may also wish to consult your yellow page 
directory for additional legal resources. 
 
 
San Francisco Daily Journal San Francisco Recorder Book Publishing Company 
1390 Market Street, Suite 1210 625 Polk Street, Suite 500 201 Westlake Ave. North 
San Francisco, CA  94102 San Francisco, CA  94102 Seattle, WA  98109 
(415) 252-0500  (415) 621-540  (800) 537-7881 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

APPENDIX 
 
FEES WITH STATUTORY CITATIONS, FEE AMOUNTS, AND CALCULATIONS 
 

Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation 

1a Filing FIRST PAPER in a CIVIL action – Unlimited (more than $25K) 
Clerk's Fee $156.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 & 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$18.50 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854] Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 
& 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 
[Government Code § 26826.3; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court 
Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official 
court reporter fee $25.00 for each plaintiff [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security 
Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $276.50 
 

1b CIVIL – Limited (more than $10K to $25K) 
Clerk’s Fee  $154.00 [Government Code § 72055(a)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $18.50 
[Government Code § 68087]; Judges’ Retirement Fund $2.00 [Government Code § 72056.1]; 
Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863, Board of Supervisors Resolution 90-
854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 & 470.3, 
Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; State Court Facilities Surcharge $18.00 
[Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 
6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official court reporter fee 
$25.00 for each party [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 
[Government Code § 69926(a)] = $276.50 
 

1c CIVIL – Limited Unlawful Detainer (more than $10K to $25K) 
Same as 1b plus $4.00 Masking fee [Code of Civil Procedure 1161.2, Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 2000-295] = $280.50 
 

1d CIVIL – Limited (less than $10K) 
Clerk’s Fee $52.00 [Government Code § 72055]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $8.30 
[Government Code § 68087]; Judges’ Retirement Fund $2.00 [Government Code § 72056.1]; 
Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors Resolution 90-
854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 & 470.3, Bd. 
of Supv. Reso. 93-424]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, 
Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; State Court Facilities Surcharge $18.00 
[Government Code § 70373]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 
69926(a)] = $139.30 
 

1e CIVIL – Limited Unlawful Detainer (less than $10K) 
Same as 1d plus $4.00 Masking fee, [Code of Civil Procedure 1161.2, Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 2000-295] = $143.30 
 

3 Complaint where Nation Government is plaintiff or petitioner 
Government Code § 26857; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, 
Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199] = $28.00 
 

8 Amended or amendment to a Complaint or Cross-Complaint 
Clerk’s Fee $45.00 [Government Code § 72056.01]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $4.50 
[Government Code § 68087] = $49.50 
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF ALAMEDA 

Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

11 FIRST PAPER by each defendant where demand is more than $25K 
Clerk's Fee $153.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 and 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$18.20 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 
& 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]); Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 
[Government Code § 26826.3]; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court 
Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official 
court reporter fee $25.00 for each party [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security 
Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $273.20 each 
 

12 FIRST PAPER by each defendant where demand is more than $10K up to $25K 
Clerk’s Fee $154.00 [Government Code § 72056]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $18.50 
[Government Code § 68087]; Judges’ Retirement Fund $2.00 [Government Code § 
72056.1]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 
469 & 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; State Court Facilities Surcharge 
$18.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code 
§ 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official court reporter fee 
$25.00 [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 [Government 
Code § 69926(a)] = $276.50 each 
 

13 FIRST PAPER by each defendant where demand is $10K or less 
Clerk’s Fee $49.00 [Government Code § 72056]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $8.00 
[Government Code § 68087]; Judges’ Retirement Fund $2.00 [Government Code § 
72056.1]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 
469 & 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; State Court Facilities Surcharge 
$18.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions 
Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; [Government Code § 
68086(a)(4)]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $136.00 
each 
 

14 FIRST PAPER by National Government 
Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 2003-199] = $28.00 
 

16 Response to Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment alleging violence 
Code of Civil Procedure §§ 527(h) & 527.6 = NO FEE 
 

17 Notice of Motion 
Clerk’s Fee $33.00 [Government Code 26830]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $3.30 [Government 
Code § 68087] = $36.30 
 

18 Motion for Continuance of Trial 
Clerk’s Fee $100 [Government Code § 26830(c)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $10.00 
[Government Code § 68087] = $110.00.  Note:  payable only if motion is granted. AB 1058 
cases exempt. 
 

19 Notice of Motion for Summary Judgment 
(Clerk’s Fee $150.00 [Government Code § 26830(b)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $15.00 
[Government Code § 68087] = $165.00 
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Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

20 Fee for Change of Venue or Transfer 
(Clerk’s Fee $23.00 [Government Code § 26823]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $2.30 
[Government Code § 68087] = $25.30 
 

21 Civil Case Reclassification 
Clerk’s Fee $125.00 [Code of Civil Procedure § 403.060(a)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$12.50 [Government Code § 68087] = $137.50 
 

22 Complaint - COMPLEX 
Clerk's Fee $156.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 & 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$68.50 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854] Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 
& 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 
[Government Code § 26826.3; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court 
Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official 
court reporter fee $25.00 for each plaintiff [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security 
Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] Complex Designation Fee $500.00 
[Government Code § 26826.4(d) 68086(a)(4)] = $826.50 
 

23 FIRST PAPER by each defendant - COMPLEX 
Clerk's Fee $153.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 & 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$68.20 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854] Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 
& 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 
[Government Code § 26826.3; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court 
Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; One-time official 
court reporter fee $25.00 [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 
[Government Code § 69926(a)]; Complex Designation Fee $500.00 [Government Code § 
26826.4(d) 68086(a)(4)] = $823.20 each 
 

24 Complex Designation Fee 
$500.00 [Government Code § 26826.4(d) 68086(a)(4)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $50.00 
[Government Code § 68087] = $550.00 
 

27 Official Reporting Services – more than 4 hours 
$400.00 [Government Code § 68086]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $40.00 [Government Code § 
68087] = $440.00 
 

28 Official Reporting Services – more than 1 hours but not more that 4 hours 
$200.00 [Government Code § 68086]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 
68087] = $220.00 
 

30 Witness Fee for any Peace Officer (per day) 
Government Code § 68097.2; Penal Code § 830 = $165.00 
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Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

31 Probate – FIRST Petition (Decedent’s Estate) 
Clerk's Fee is a graduated filing fee pursuant to Government Code §§ 26827(a) & 68085; the 
Civil Filing Fee Surcharge pursuant to Government Code § 68087 is a graduated filing fee 
based on the estimated value of the estate as follows— 
 
Less than $250K = $156.00 + 10% surcharge of $18.50

$250K to less than $500K = $221.00 + 10% surcharge of $25.00

$500K to less than $750K = $321.00 + 10% surcharge of $35.00

$750K to less than $1 Million = $471.00 + 10% surcharge of $50.00

$1M to less than $1.5M = $971.00 + 10% surcharge of $100.00

$1.5M to less than 2M = $1,971.00 +10% surcharge of $200.00

$2M to less than $2.5M = $2,471.00 + 10% surcharge of $250.00

$2.5M to less than $3.5M = $3,471.00 + 10% surcharge of $350.00

$3.5 M or more = $3,898.00 + 0.2% of amount over $3.5M + 10% surcharge 

Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 
[Government Code § 26863]; Board of Supervisors Resolution 90-854, Dispute Resolution 
Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 & 470.3, Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 93-424]); Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 [Government Code § 26826.3]; 
Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court Facilities Surcharge $10.00 
[Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 
6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; Court Security Surcharge $20.00 
[Government Code § 69926(a)] = $251.50 and up 
 

32 Probate - FIRST Petition (Guardianship, Conservatorship, Minor’s Compromise 
Clerk's Fee $156.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 & 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$18.50 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854] Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 
& 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]; Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 
[Government Code § 26826.3; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court 
Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; Court Security 
Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $251.50 
 

36 Probate - Where Nation Government is plaintiff or petitioner 
See #3 of Appendix = $28.00.  
 

37 Probate - FIRST PAPER on behalf of each respondent, defendant, etc. 
Clerk's Fee $153.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 and 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$18.20 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863; Board of Supervisors 
Resolution 90-854]; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 
469 & 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]); Children’s Waiting Room Fund 
$5.00 [Government Code § 26826.3]; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State 
Court Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373]; Law Library Fee $28.00 
[Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; Court 
Security Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $248.20 each 
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Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

38 Notice of Motion (Probate) 
See #20 of Appendix = $25.30. 
 

41 Petition To Establish Record of Birth, Death, or Marriage  
Clerk's Fee $6.00 [Health & Safety Code §§ 103450-103490]; Law Library Fee $28.00 
[Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199] = $34.00 
 

43 Receiving and Storing Estate Planning document 
Government Code § 26827.6; Probate Code § 700 et seq. = $10.00 
 

48 Petition for Dissolution, Separation, Nullity, or Paternity 
(Clerk's Fee $152.00 [Government Code §§ 26820.4 and 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 
$18.50 [Government Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 
26822.3]; Micrographic Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863]; Final Decree Entry Fee $4.00 
[$2.00 per Government Code § 26859 and $2.00 per Health & Safety Code § 100430]; Board 
of Supervisors Resolution 90-854; Dispute Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & 
Professions Code §§ 469 & 470.3, Board of Supervisors Resolution 93-424]); Children’s 
Waiting Room Fund $5.00 [Government Code § 26826.3]; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 
12/14/99)]; State Court Facilities Surcharge $10.00 [Government Code § 70373] ); Law 
Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 
2003-199]; One-time official court reporter fee $25.00 [Government Code § 68086(a)(4)]; 
Court Security Surcharge $20.00 [Government Code § 69926(a)] = $276.50. 
 

49 Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution 
See #48 of Appendix plus one-time official court reporter fee $25.00 [Government Code § 
68086(a)(4)] = $301.50 
 

50 Action to Establish or Enforce a Child Support Order 
Government Code § 6103.9; Family Code § 17000 et seq. = NO FEE 
 

52 Petition for Adoption 
Health & Safety Code §§ 100430 & 103730 = $20.00 per adoptee. 
 

53 Family Law - FIRST PAPER on behalf of respondent, defendant, etc. 
See #11 of Appendix for fee of $273.20. 
 
Fee for Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058:  Clerk's Fee $153.00 
[Government Code §§ 26820.4 and 68085]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $18.20 [Government 
Code § 68087]; Judges' Retirement Fund $3.00 [Government Code § 26822.3]; Micrographic 
Fee $3.00 [Government Code § 26863]; Board of Supervisors Resolution 90-854; Dispute 
Resolution Program $8.00 [Business & Professions Code §§ 469 & 470.3, Board of 
Supervisors Resolution 93-424]) Children’s Waiting Room Fund $5.00 [Government Code § 
26826.3]; Board of Supervisors (Approved on 12/14/99)]; State Court Facilities Surcharge 
$10.00 [Government Code § 70373] Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & Professions Code § 
6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199] = $228.20 
 

54 Family Law – O/S/C re: Child Custody or Visitation 
Clerk’s Fee $33.00 [Government Code § 26830]; Conciliation Court $20.00 [Government 
Code § 26862]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $5.30 [Government Code § 68087] = $58.30 
 
Fee for Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058:  Clerk’s Fee $23.00 
[Government Code § 26830]; Conciliation Court $20.00 [Government Code § 26862]; Civil 
Filing Fee Surcharge $4.30 [Government Code § 68087] = $47.30 
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Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

55 Notice of Motion – Family Law 
See #17 of Appendix = $36.30. 
 
Fee for Child Support Enforcement actions funded by AB 1058:  See #20 of Appendix = 
$25.30 
. 

56 Entering Final Judgment (for cases filed before July 1, 1984) 
Chapter Law 29, Statutes of 1984, Government Code § 26859 = $4.00 
 

59 Small Claims – Claim of Plaintiff (1 to 12 claims per year) 
Clerk’s Fee $9.00, State Fee $5.00 [Code of Civil Procedure § 116.230]; Civil Filing Fee 
Surcharge $2.00 [Government Code § 68087]; Small Claims Advisor Fee $6.00 [Code of 
Civil Procedure § 116.910] = $22.00 
 

60 Small Claims - Claim of Plaintiff (13 or more by same party) 
Clerk’s Fee $16.00, State Fee $30.00 [Code of Civil Procedure § 116.230]; Civil Filing Fee 
Surcharge $6.00 [Government Code § 68087]; Small Claims Advisor Fee $14.00 [Code of 
Civil Procedure § 116.910] = $66.00 
 

61 Small Claims – Claim of Defendant (1 to 12 claims per year) 
See #59 of Appendix = $22.00. 
 

62 Small Claims – Claim of Defendant (13 or more by same party) 
See #60 of Appendix = $66.00. 
 

63 Small Claims – Service of Claim by Certified Mail 
Postage Fee $8.00 [Code of Civil Procedure § 116.230(b)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $0.80 
[Government Code § 68087] = $8.80 
 

67 Small Claims - Motion 
Clerk’s Fee $14.00 [Government Code § 26830(c)]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $1.40 
[Government Code § 68087] = $15.40 
 

71 Notice of Appeal – Limited Jurisdiction 
Clerk’s Fee $50.00 [Government Code § 26824]; Law Library Fee $28.00 [Business & 
Professions Code § 6322.1, Board of Supervisors Resolution 2003-199]; Certificate & 
Transmittal Fee $10.00 [Government Code § 72060]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $1.00 
[Government Code § 68087] = $89.00 
 

72 Notice of Appeal – Small Claims 
See #71 of Appendix = $89.00. 
 

76 Preparing copy 
Government Code § 26831, Ordinance 91-33 = $.75 per page. 
 

77 Comparing copy with original on file 
Clerk’s Fee $1.00 [Government Code § 26837.1]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 10¢ 
[Government Code § 68087] = $1.10 

78 Certifying to copy of paper, record, or proceeding 
(Clerk’s Fee $6.00 [Government Code § 26833.1]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 60¢ 
[Government Code § 68087]) = $6.60 
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Item No. Statutory Authority and Calculation (continued) 

80 Every certificate where no fee is fixed 
Clerk’s Fee $6.00 [Government Code § 26836.1]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 60¢ 
[Government Code § 68087] = $6.60 
 

82 Public Agencies:  Clerk’s Fee $5.00 [Government Code § 26832.1 & Family Code § 
1852]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 50¢ [Government Code § 68087] = $5.50 
 
All Others:  Clerk’s Fee $10.00 [Government Code § 26832.1 & Family Code § 1852]; Civil 
Filing Fee Surcharge $1.00 [Government Code § 68087] = $11.00 
 

83 Authentication of each signature 
Clerk’s Fee $6.00 [Government Code § 26835.1]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 60¢ 
[Government Code § 68087] = $6.60 
 

89 Taking an affidavit (except in criminal or adoption proceedings) 
Clerk’s Fee $6.00 [Government Code § 26853.1]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 60¢ 
[Government Code § 68087] = $6.60 
 

90 Search of records or files 
Government Code §§ 26854 or 72054 = $5.00 
 

92 Taking acknowledgment of any deed or other instrument 
Clerk’s Fee $6.00 [Government Code § 26855.4]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge 60¢ 
[Government Code § 68087] = $6.60 
 

93 Preparation of certificate of clerk prior to filing record of appeal in reviewing court 
Clerk’s Fee $23.00 [Government Code § 26838]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $2.30 
[Government Code § 68087] = $25.30 
 

95 Motion to set aside bail forfeiture/summary judgment (criminal proceedings) 
Clerk’s Fee $33.00 [Government Code § 26830]; Civil Filing Fee Surcharge $3.30 
[Government Code § 68087] = $36.30 
 

96 FIRST PAPER in a criminal action on a motion to set aside BF/SJ 
If amount of the bail bond is more than $25K = $273.20, see #11 of Appendix 
If amount of the bail bond is more than $10K up to $25K = $276.50, see #12 of Appendix 

If the amount of the bail bond is $10K or less = $136.00, see #13 of Appendix 

97 Issuing a marriage license 
Clerk’s Fee $36.00 [Government Code § 26840], State Vital Records $2.00 [Government 
Code § 26840], Conciliation Court $5.00 [Government Code § 26840.3], Domestic Violence 
Trust Fund $23.00 [Government Code § 26840.7], County Recorder $1.00 [Government 
Code § 26840] = $67.00 
 

98 Issuing a confidential marriage license 
Clerk’s Fee $46.00 [Government Code § 26840], State Vital Records $4.00 [Government 
Code § 26840.1], Conciliation Court $5.00 [Government Code § 26840.3], Domestic 
Violence Trust Fund $23.00 [Government Code § 26840.8] = $78.00 
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