
Local Rules of the Superior Court of California, County of Alameda 
 

Title 4.  Criminal and Traffic Rules 

Chapter 2.  Criminal Rules 

 
Rule 4.115 – Emergency Rule Adopting Temporary Emergency Bail Schedule 
 
Pursuant to subsection (b) of Emergency Rule 4 as adopted by the Judicial Council of 
California (JCC) on April 6, 2020, the Court hereby adopts the JCC Emergency Bail 
Schedule set forth in Emergency Rule 4, effective April 8, 2020. 
 
In addition to its adoption of the JCC Emergency Bail Schedule, and as permitted under 
subsection (e)(2) of Emergency Rule 4, the following local Alameda County Superior 
Court emergency bail schedule is also adopted: 
 

(1) Infractions: $0.00 
(2) Violations for failure to comply with terms of felony supervision, including felony 

probation, parole, or post release community supervision, that do not include the 
alleged commission of a new offense otherwise provided for in Emergency  
Rule 4: $5,000 (unless Emergency Rule 4 mandates setting bail at $0.00) 

 
Where (i) there is a violation for failure to comply with the terms of felony supervision—
including felony probation, parole, or post release community supervision—that is based 
on the commission of a new offense, and (ii) Emergency Rule 4 mandates setting bail at 
$0.00, any peace officer making a bail request pursuant to Penal Code section 1269c 
must timely comply with Emergency Local Rule 4.116.  Only upon timely compliance will 
the supervision violation based on the commission of a new offense be forwarded to the 
Probation Department for the completion of a risk assessment. 
 
The Court also clarifies that setting $0.00 bail is intended to authorize the citation and 
release of arrestees.  It is not the same as declining to set bail or entering a “no bail” 
order.  Accordingly, if necessary for technical reasons, law enforcement agencies may 
enter a bail amount of $0.01 in their case management systems for any offense that 
would otherwise have a bail amount of $0.00 under Emergency Rule 4 or as indicated 
above. 
 
Rule 4.115 amended May 21, 2020; previously amended April 22, April 8 and April 3, 
2020; adopted effective April 3, 2020. 

 


